Bookmark as:
Format: 2CDR
Catalog:<no info>
Misc.:<no info>
Produced:<no info>
Date: 810219
Matrix: Disc: 1
Disc: 2
Cover: Front: Picture of the Floyd playing in front of the completed wall with the projection of the marching hammers on the wall. Appears as if several band members are on stage (the surrogate band?) along with a few of the "hammer troopers". Under the picture: PINK FLOYD (in large red font) with Tear down the Walls (in smaller yellow font) superimposed over the top.
Sources: 19 Feb 1981, Westfalenhalle, Dortmund, Germany
Hires-coverscans: <no info>
MP3-Soundsample: <no info>


      Disc: 1
       1. Intro (Spoken In German)                             1:49
       2. In The Flesh?                                        3:09
       3. The Thin Ice                                         3:06
       4. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 1)                   4:59
       5. The Happiest Days Of Our Lives                       1:24
       6. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 2)                   6:58
       7. Mother                                               9:01
       8. Goodbye Blue Sky                                     3:41
       9. Empty Spaces                                         4:59
      10. Young Lust                                           5:23
      11. One Of My Turns                                      4:10
      12. Don't Leave Me Now                                   4:32
      13. Another Brick In The Wall (Part 3)                   5:21
      14. Goodbye Cruel World                                  1:30
          Total Time:                                         59:37

      Disc: 2
       1. Hey You                                              5:06
       2. Is There Anybody Out There?                          3:05
       3. Nobody Home                                          3:27
       4. Vera                                                 2:04
       5. Bring The Boys Back Home                             1:27
       6. Comfortably Numb                                     7:49
       7. The Show Must Go On                                  5:02
       8. In The Flesh                                         5:25
       9. Run Like Hell                                        7:09
      10. Waiting For The Worms                                4:41
      11. Stop                                                 0:33
      12. The Trial                                            6:31
      13. Outside The Wall                                     4:15
          Total Time:                                         56:42

      Roger Waters
      David Gilmour
      Nick Mason
      Rick Wright

Xref:<no info>
  • Ex- -SUNDOG
Comments: A great recording from the 1980-81 Wall tour. The taper was close and had a good line of sight (sound!?!) to the PA system. Instruments are well defined, with no frequency attenuation. The sound effects are also clear and can be heard quite easily. The crowd is active but is not obtrusive, making you feel that you are at the show!!! In my opinion, this recording is a notch better than the Azimuth Coordinator 3 (7 February 1980) Los Angeles show, which (to me) sounds more distant and slightly muffled, and far better than my copy of LiveWall (17 June, 1981) Earls Court show (which is plagued with drawbacks (drop-outs, sloppy edits, speed problems)).

Like with many of the Wall shows, "Intro" is just the emcee welcoming everybody to the show, etc. My German is a little rusty, so I'm clueless as to what is being said.

During Mother, instead of "Mother do you think they'll try break my balls?", Roger sings "Mother do you think they'll try to drown my words?" The LA show has "...break my balls". I couldn't find any references that note this lyric change... Anyone have any ideas?

A few annoying skips/edits during the intro Empty Spaces. I couldn't tell if this was a problem with the source tape or digital hiccups when being converted CD. It only lasts a few seconds, so nothing to worry about.

After Empty Spaces, it sounds like someone on stage (or through the headset monitors) is talking to Roger. Roger: "Fine, OK . . . (slightly annoyed mumbling), Right, Fine, Yeah, OK, Fine... This is for all of the rockers and rollers in the audience, it's called Loud Lust".

Slight digital hiccup in "The Show Must Go On", but lasts only a second. Much spoken German at the end of the song, immediately preceding "In The Flesh". No speed problems (as reported with some of the other Wall-era ROIOs).

Roger's intro to Run Like Hell (for ID purposes), : "Thank you! Please don't try and touch the pig, he is dangerous to some. Do you like our pig? Right, that's enough of piggy. This next song is to fathom out all the hecklers, not that there seems to be many here this evening. It's called Run Like Hell. You can all clap along, as soon as Dave is ready. We can all have a damn good clap. Woooo!..., Get down, Mmmmmm!..., Disco!..., Wooooo!..., Clap! Clap!" Dave begins the RLH intro, cuts out and let's the clap-happy fans keep the beat for a few bars, then joins back in.

At the end of the show, Roger: "Thank You Very much..., Thank You...."

Overall, one of the best Wall recordings I've heard yet. The Floyd was definitely having a great night and Gilmour's guitar work is awesome! Hunt it!!! -SUNDOG

(Last update: 991109)

[ Home | CDs | LPs | Videos | Tapes | FAQ/Guides | Link Us | Mail Us | Links | How to get RoIOs | Traders | Sellers | Audio | Forum ]

All content in whole or in part is ©1991-8 The Pink Floyd RoIO Database. Articles and images on this site are reproduced for reference, research and comment only. Copyrights are retained by the original author, artist or publisher.