Bookmark as:
Format: 2CDR
Catalog: DFP-322 Digital Floyd Project
Misc.:<no info>
Produced: 1998
Date: 730311
Matrix: Disc 1:
Cover: A maple-leaf shaped picture of Nick Mason and his drums on a black background, with yellow lettering above-"PINK FLOYD"-and below -- "YEESHKUL! live at Maple Leaf Gardens, Toronto, Canada, March 11, 1973". The back cover lists the songs and the date/venue. The artwork on the tray liner and insert is all taken from the Maple Leaf Gardens show, which is a nice touch. The discs are white, with a black maple leaf and yellow writing.
Sources: 11 Mar 1973, Maple Leaf Gardens, Toronto, Canada
Hires-coverscans: yeeshkul.back.1.jpg
MP3-Soundsample: <no info>


      Disc:  1
       1. Echoes                                              23:00 
       2. Obscured By Clouds                                   6:43 
       3. When You're In                                       9:10 
       4. Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun           14:04 
       5. Careful With That Axe, Eugene                       12:33 
          Total Time:                                         65:32 

      Disc:  2
       1. Speak to Me                                          2:07 
       2. Breathe                                              3:03 
       3. On the Run                                           5:51 
       4. Time                                                 5:55 
       5. Breathe (reprise)                                    1:05 
       6. Great Gig in the Sky                                 4:56 
       7. Money                                                6:02 
       8. Us and Them                                          7:44 
       9. Any Colour You Like                                  6:39 
      10. Brain Damage                                         3:50 
      11. Eclipse                                              2:41 
      12. One of These Days                                   10:05 
          Total Time:                                         60:03 

      Roger Waters 
      Nick Mason 
      David Gilmour 
      Rick Wright 

Xref:<no info>
  • Ex stereo
Comments: An excellent 2-CDR set of the show from March 11, 1973 at the Maple Leaf Gardens in Toronto. This show has long been well-known among Floyd fans as a very strong performance by the boys, but remarkably has never made it to disc until now. This set evidently gets its title from the man who shouts something like "Yeeshkul!" (I have no idea what it means) at least six or seven times over the course of the show. Fortunately, he almost never shouts it during the songs, and overall audience interference is minimal during this whole show.

And a hell of a show it is, especially the first set, which is one of the best sets I've ever heard from the Dark Side-era Floyd. Sound quality is very high; whoever did this one took a lot of care over it, and it shows -- it sounds decidedly better than my tape, which is pretty good as it is.

There's almost no hiss or distortion, and the speed is perfect. (Of course it's not a professional recording, but it's still quite good for a 25-year-old audience tape.) There's a small edit in Great Gig in the Sky, but it's handled nicely, and doesn't really disrupt the song too much at all. (Echoes also cuts in a minute or so into the song, shortly before the drums enter.) The stereo imaging on this tape is unusually good, with parts of Set the Controls for the Heart of the Sun featuring some of the best stereo effects I've heard on an audience tape (and some say it's the best version of Set the Controls ever). The packaging is minimal but thoughtful, featuring pictures taken from the concert (and nice black leaf-masking on the front cover). All in all, a great set! - MT

(Last update: 980728)

[ Home | CDs | LPs | Videos | Tapes | FAQ/Guides | Link Us | Mail Us | Links | How to get RoIOs | Traders | Sellers | Audio | Forum ]

All content in whole or in part is ©1991-8 The Pink Floyd RoIO Database. Articles and images on this site are reproduced for reference, research and comment only. Copyrights are retained by the original author, artist or publisher.